“Lip-dub” or how to deal with the context

Yesterday I attended part of the session with Alec Couros in Blackboard. Towards the end there is a proposal for a lip-dub. With my clumsy English I did not know what it was. From the context I assumed it was something connected with their lips, these I know them, mouth, teeth, lips … To my amazement a waterfall frantic words began appearing on the shared whiteboard. All familiar songs, Help, The Yellow Submarine, The Beatles, Queen, other classics. I listened with one ear with an eye I read and what remained of me, at that time of night (latitude problem), opened another tab in my browser. Lip-dub, Lip-dub, google, wikipedia …. ok I have it!

At that point everyone was thanking and saying goodbye Alec.

I imagined how many times in a classroom, some of my students would feel just as lost as me. How often we take for granted that we all find ourselves in the same context. Far from being a situation to complain, today we have tools that allow us to find the meaning of things that make us feel stumped.

Very quickly we can approach a context that is unknown. We can begin to make sense of things that we can learn and discover many things you did not even know existed.

Comments
4 Responses to ““Lip-dub” or how to deal with the context”
  1. Hi Verónica … This is an amazing insightful post. As teachers, we so often assume that our students know exactly what we say and are opetrating within the same context that we are. I can better appreciate the frustration that you experienced when the slang expression “lip dub” was used by Alec Couros and our #ETMOOC colleagues. As I began this comment, I realized that I would need “Google Translate” to help me adjust to your context with the Spanish prompts as i speak only English and a little French.

    The lip-dub activity gets it’s name from videos where individuals sing a popular song but the video track shows only their lips moving & body language while the audio track contains the original recording artist. For example: The Beatles or Julio Iglesias.

    This can best be demonstrated by a video that Dean Shareski created for Alec Couros on Alec’s 40th birthday. Dean organized a number of Alec’s friends to sing the Andrew Gold song “Thank You For Being A Friend”. Dean’s tribute can be found on YouTube at:

    Undoubtedly Alec was so impressed with Dean’s creative talents, that he would like to challenge #ETMOOC partipants to “lip dub” the Queen song “Don’t Stop Me Now”. Unfortunately, I don’t know this song so I guess I’ll have to search Google for the lyrics and start practicing with this video:

    Thanks for caring and sharing🙂

    Take care & keep smiling🙂 Brian

    • veronica dice:

      Oh Brian thanks! Although I had already understood the idea, I was really far to grasp the concept. I imagine Alec weeping, felt a lump in the throat myself!

      I’ll be waiting to learn to do this type of video with so many people for organizing … for those who say that the virtual moves away from the emotional. Touche

  2. Alec Couros dice:

    Thank you so much for this post. As Brian mentions, this is very insightful and honest, and you’ve pushed me to better understand the context of the participants involved in #etmooc. When we purposefully invite the world into a MOOC, faciliators should be prepared for a much broader range of context and cultural meaning, and I am slowly learning this.

    • veronica dice:

      Now that the video is finished you will be very proud of the result and the whole team´s work. I loved participating and somehow know, that although we are fa,r there are ways to feel closer.

      Thanks to your enormous generosity that allows us to know the backstage of the development of this project. It´s a way we can get ideas for our own challenges.

      Observing and imitating the way you guide this mooc, I’m learning to explain step by step the development of my projects for others to make or take what serves. This is an ethic, peculiar to this mode of learning.

      Ready for storytelling!!

Responder

